28 C
Friday, May 20, 2022

Mahela Jayawardene inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

- Advertisement -

Ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 final between Australia and New Zealand, Janette Brittin, Mahela Jayawardene and Shaun Pollock have been announced as the newest inductees into the prestigious ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

These legends will be formally inducted by fellow ICC Hall of Famer, Sir Clive Lloyd at the much-anticipated final between New Zealand and Australia on Sunday before the game gets underway at the Dubai International Stadium.

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame recognises the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket’s long and illustrious history. 106 players have been inducted since its launch in 2009, with Brittin, Jayawardena and Pollock as the latest inductees celebrated. The new inductees played in 284 Tests, 814 ODIs and 67 T20Is between them. Janet Brittin was a mainstay of the England Test team for 19 years, helping to pave the way for women’s cricket between 1979 and 1998.

Mahela Jayawardene retired as one of Sri Lanka’s greatest ever players, a key member of the team that won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2014 and reached four other major ICC finals.

Mahela Jayawardene commented: “I am thrilled to have been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. It’s a very special honour to follow in the footsteps of legends Sanga and Murali from Sri Lanka and so many other great cricketers of the past.”


ඇමතිකම ලැබුණු හැටි හරීන් හෙළි කරයි

අද දින තමන් සහ මනූෂ නානායක්කාර මන්ත්‍රීවරයා ඇමති ධූරයන් හි දිවුරුම් දුන්නේ 19 වැනි ආණ්ඩුක්‍රම ව්‍යවස්ථා සංශෝධනය ගෙන එන බවට එකඟ වූ...

ගෝඨා ගෝ හෝම්..! – හරීන් 

ජනතා විරෝධය මධ්‍යයේත් බලයේ රැඳී සිටින ගෝඨාභය රාජපක්ෂ ගෙදර යා යුතුය යන ස්ථාවරයේ කිසිදු වෙනසක් නොමැති බව ඉඩම් හා සංචාරක අමාත්‍ය හරීන්...

මනූෂට හා හරීන්ට විනය පරීක්ෂණ

අද (20) දිනයේ අමාත්‍ය ධූර භාර ගත් මනූෂ නානායක්කාරට සහ හරීන් ප්‍රනාන්දු යන අයට එරෙහිව විනය ක්‍රියාමාර්ග ගන්නා බව සමගි ජන බලවේගයේ...


Senior DIG Deshabandu Tennakoon assaulted

Senior DIG in charge of the Western Province Deshabandu Tennakoon was assaulted by a group on Tuesday (10) afternoon.

President declares State of Emergency

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has declared a state of emergency with effect from midnight today, President’s Media Division informed. The...

Yoshitha to Sue AKD

Yoshitha Rajapaksa, the Chief of Prime Minister's Staff said that he would file law suit against the claims made by JVP Leader...